Home » Mental health » An update

An update

So I’ve been seeing my psychiatrist for 11 months. I can say with some certainty that my depression has lifted, but that my anxiety continues, and every day I battle with it. The med combination that I’m on now seems to be working and both my dr and I are hesitant to change it.  Dr. L. allows me to determine how much clonazepam I need daily. I vary between 1 – 2 mgs. It honestly depends on the day. The other two meds are fixed doses and we are going to stick with them right now.

This year (it will be a year on June 6) has been difficult, but I have noticed a difference in the past three months. I feel better about my thesis and doing work in general. I have more calm days than agitated ones. The days that I am agitated I try to remember to take the higher dose of clonaz. I’m kind of working on a “Let Go and Let God” sort of mantra. I do not consider myself very religious but that phrase does help me, and I do consider myself to be spiritual.

I am still me, a year later, and I’m pretty happy about that. I’m still afraid that I’ll jinx it somehow, if I say that I came out on the other side, but I do feel like I survived. And for anyone who has ever battled depression and anxiety, survival is what we’re going for. So here’s to you, fellow survivors.

One thought on “An update

What do you think?

